North Star Community Credit Union

Our History

On December 9, 1940, a group of men from the community met to organize Benson County Cooperative Credit Union. Since its' organization, the Benson County Co-op Credit Union/North Star Community Credit Union has had seven managers. Bob Herrington is presently serving in this capacity. The five members of the Board of Directors are elected at the annual meeting and serve 3 year terms. An Educational Committee, consisting of member volunteers, assists the staff with promotional activities and youth programs.

North Star Community Credit Union continues to serve its communities and has grown steadily since 1941, from membership of 149, as shown by the minutes of the first annual meeting in January 1942 with assets totaling $2358.20 to a present membership of 9353 with shares totaling $166,883,863.53 as reported at the 76th annual meeting held in March 2016.

In March of 1984 Rugby Credit Union merged with the Benson County Co-op Credit Union.

In 2001 the name of the credit union was changed to North Star Community Credit Union to better represent our expanding cooperative.

In June of 2002 a branch office was opened in Bottineau and later that year in November, the Cavalier Credit Union was merged.

In September of 2011 we opened the branch in Grafton, ND.

In 2016,we merged with Ascentia Federal CU in Minot making that our 6th branch location.

July 1st, 2017 was the offical merger date with Northern Tier Federal Credit Union. Adding 5 additional branches to North Star CCU. Minot Air Force Base, Minot (Located on South Broadway), Velva, Willow City & Butte.

Even with all the changes and growth, we continue to support the Credit Union philosophy of "Not for Profit, Not for Charity, But for Service", by providing a full service financial institution in which members have an equal voice in the control and operation of their Credit Union.

Click HERE for the 2017 Annual Meeting review.


Our Mission

The mission of North Star Community Credit Union is to deliver financial solutions, one person at a time.

North Star Community Credit Union is owned by its members. This is different than other financial institutions which are owned by a select group of stockholders. The Credit Union's profits are returned to the members in the form of better services, accounts, and favorable rates on savings and loans.

Click here to view our privacy statement.


Board Of Directors

Michael Black - Chairman

Nadley Buehler - Vice Chairman

Beth Olson - Secretary

Kevin Gigstad

Mike Foster

Chuck Emery

John Riley

Ken Klebe

Shawn Vedaa